2021 Label Contest Winners

It’s been said for ages — making wine is a balance of science and art. Today, however, we’re going to focus on art. That is, the art that wraps our precious bottles of wine.

Home winemakers were able to pick up new hobbies as they found themselves with additional downtime at home in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic. And, if the number of entries WineMaker received in our annual label contest (particularly from first-time entrants) was any indication, saying that many chose to start designing labels to decorate the bottles of their homemade wines is not an exaggeration. The staff at WineMaker gathered from the safe distance of their remote offices for online voting this year and after some friendly debate came up with our favorite labels of 2021. We hope you enjoy viewing the winning labels as much as we did in selecting them. If you didn’t receive a prize this year, just keep in mind that there are only 12 months left to design the next great label!

We want to give a big thank you to our sponsors who help keep this annual competition going. Lastly, thank you to the home winemakers who continue to impress us with their abilities year after year. 

Grand Champion

Joseph Sargetakis
Salt Lake City, Utah


Fabiola Granados
Mexico City, Mexico


Jeff and Becky Nohava
Bozeman, Montana


Cathy Baur
Valley Center, California

Reader’s Choice

Frank & Karen Allen
Mission Viejo, California

Honerable Mention

DG Cheney
Belgrade, Montana

Karen Clark
Mission Viejo, California

David Noone
San Ysidro, California

Kim DeMott
Tucson, Arizona

Andrea Fazio-DiVecchio
Shorewood, Illinois

Barb Hennelly
Fair Oaks, California

Lorenzo Loggia and Andre Perron
Montreal, Québec

Chad Mitchell
Dauphin, Pennsylvania

Melissa Moseley
Los Olivos, California

Mike and Sharon Orton
Lincoln, California

Christy Raines
Scottsville, Kentucky

John Reeve
Rancho Murieta, California

Gail Sacharczuk
Holland, Pennsylvania

Laura Stearn
Temecula, California

Angela Volzke
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Penny Walker
San Diego, California

Editor’s Choice

Dito Diez
Temecula, California

Barbara Bentley 
Walnut Creek, California

Larry Carducci
Auburn, California

Jim D’Amico
Mt. Hamilton, California

Dan Dawson
Ashland, Oregon

Mike Little
Eagan, Minnesota

Brian Tedsen
Orcutt, California

Bruce Van Houten
Alto, Michigan